American Surgical Association Transactions

Search Transactions

Annual Banquet Speakers

2017Julian Bailes, M.D., Surgical Director, NorthShore Neurological Institute, & Chairman, Department of Neurosurgery,
NorthShore University Health System, Evanston, Illinois
2016Paul Sereno, Ph.D., Biological Sciences Division, Organismal Biology and Anatomy, University of Chicago, Illinois
2015No speaker
2014No speaker
2013Lord Bernard Francisco Ribeiro, Alresford, Hampshire, United Kingdom
2012No speaker
2011Haile T. Debas, MD, University of California San Francisco
2010No speaker
2009No speaker
2008Alfred G. Gilman, M.D., Ph.D., University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas
2007Dr. Charles H. Webb, Jr., Emeritus Dean of the School of Music of the University of Indiana
2006Mary-Claire King, Ph.D., Geneticist
2005George McGee, Forest General Hospital, Hattiesburg, Mississippi
2004No speaker
2003Dr. Anthony S. Fauci, Director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Disease, Bethesda
2002Dr. Richard G. A. Feachem, Director of the Institute for Global Health, San Francisco
2001No speaker
2000John W. McGill, M.D., President, American Chapter, Doctors Without Borders
1999No speaker
1998James Humes, Author
1997Story Musgrave, M.D., Astronaut, NASA
1996David McCullough, Author
1995Nancy Landon Kassebaum, U.S. Senator, Kansas
1994Daniel J. Boorstin, Historian, Past Librarian of Congress
1993Witold Rybczynski, Professor of Architecture, McGill University, Montreal
1992James C. Thompson, M.D., President American Surgical Association
1991Norman Sherry, Author
1990Louis W. Sullivan, M.D., Secretary of Health and Human Services
1989Tom Brokaw, News Commentator
1988Galen Rowell, Adventure Photographer
1987No speaker
1986David Brinkley, News Commentator
1985Stanley Spector, Ph.D., Professor of Chinese and International Studies, Washington University
1984Dr. Steven Muller, President, Johns Hopkins University
1983No speaker
1982Dr. Gert H. Brieger, Department of the History of Health Sciences, University of California, San Francisco
1981Dr. Simon Ramo, Co-founder and Director Emeritus, TRW, Inc.
1980Gilbert Cant, Founder, Medicine Section, Time Magazine
1979Fred L. Hartley, Chairman and President, Union Oil Company
1978H. Ross Perot, Industrialist and Financier
1977Calvin H. Plimpton, President, Amherst College
1976Federal Judge James Plemon Coleman
1975Rocke H. Robertson, M.D., President, McGill University
1974Dr. Andrew Holt, President, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
1973Lord Arthur Porritt, F.R.C.S.
1972Merlin K. DuVal, M.D., Secretary, Department of Health, Education and Welfare
1971Irvine H. Page, M.D., Chairman, Division of Research, Cleveland Clinic
1970Mr. Harry Schwartz, Medical Writer, New York Times
1969Dr. Walter Consuele Langsam, President, University of Cincinnati
1968Fred R. Harris, U.S. Senator, Oklahoma
1967Berton Roueche, Medical Mystery Writer of Eleven Blue Men, New York
1966Dr. Fred Stone, Director, National Institutes of General Medical Sciences
1965John Weaver, Ph.D., President, University of Wisconsin
1964Dr. William Bean
1963Donald H. Menzel, Paine Professor of Astronomy and Astrophysics, Harvard University
1962Dwight David Eisenhower, President, United States of America